Another reason why I love HIMYM…

After several weeks, How I Met Your Mother finally returned to new episodes this past Monday.  This gives me something to look forward to on an otherwise nondescript Monday night. And although he watches it with me and occassionally laughs, the husband gave me an exasperated look as if to say, “Not this show again!”

Here I was thinking all these years that he actually liked the show.  I knew he didn’t care about it as much as I did, but he was always game to watching it. 

He sat on the couch next to me playing Angry Birds while I played sudoku and watched the show. And he laughed. I’d tease him about his skepticism (he once thought we should write a blog detailing one huge Prezi / mind-map to show all the clues of the Mother). He would kind of scoff in that “I’ll never admit you’re right” kind of way.

But then, something incredible happened and I couldn’t have written it better myself. As the storylines were wrapping up for the episode, none other but Wilco is playing in the background.  And that’s why I love this show – because somehow it taps into the 30-something psyche with all the same fears, interests, experiments, and ridiculousness of growing up.

What’s more, the husband is a huge Wilco fan. He has kind of converted me, and whenever they are in town (which is rare) we make the extra effort to see them. So to have one of their older songs set the mood for the coda was pretty touching.

He put down the game, grabbed my hand, and watched the rest of the episode with me.

Comments

