Natural Living Review: Seventh Generation Window and Surface Cleaner

A big thumbs up for this product!  Armed with a coupon from a vendor stand at a local festival, I purchased my first bottle of Seventh Generation natural cleaning products, starting with this spray.  Every Memorial Day weekend I give all the windows in the house a thorough cleaning – it’s usually about the time when I start opening up the windows to let in the fresh, warm air and seeing all the dirt and grime buildup from the winter storms and spring rains.

Lorax approved.

I use newspaper as my “towel” to clean windows (it doesn’t leave streaks or lint) – at least I know that won’t disintegrate with the blue cleaners I had used before.  I didn’t know what to expect with a new “natural” product – would it leave ink all over the window?  I sprayed the first window – squirt, squirt, squirt – and started wiping.

The first thing you notice with the Seventh Generation product is the smell – or rather, the lack of it.  Short of unscrewing the top and sticking my nose in the bottle, there was no noticeable smell.  This took a little getting used to; perhaps I enjoyed cleaning windows so much before because the pleasant (yet noxious) smell of “general cleaning solution” made me feel good and that I had refreshed something.  With “natural” home products you’d expect a smell like vinegar, lemon, or lavender; not having a smell at all was a little unnerving.

The second bit that took getting used to was that I needed less of it to clean the windows than the other sprays.  Or rather, I used less of it because it took longer to dry – probably because it lacks alcohols.  I didn’t want to spend all my day wiping and wiping.  And not that anyone should complain about using less of a product, either!

So now here I am using a colorless, odorless product, and using far less of it than the blue stuff.  It worked just as good – if not better – than any other window cleaner I’ve used before.  It was amazing.  My husband commented on how good the windows looked without knowing I had switched products.  Because it didn’t smell and had so few ingredients on the label I thought maybe they had pulled one over all of us and bottled water!  Can’t get more natural than that.

Comments

