Natural Beauty Review: Ole Henriksen Sheer Transformation

I am a sucker for freebies, an addiction gleefully enabled by Sephora.  I got a deluxe sample of the Ole Henriksen Sheer Transformation what I believed to be moisturizer around the same time I purchased the Ole Henriksen scrub.  I began using both at the same time, and I just ran out of both at the same time, which goes to show that a little goes a long way for both of these products.  Knowing the scrub was already approved for pregnancy, and needing a new lightweight moisturizer, I plunged right in to the Ole Sheer Transformation sampler.

Now, the Sheer Transformation product claims to perform several tasks such as provide anti-aging protection, fade discoloration such as age marks and sun spots, retexturize your complexion, and smooth fine lines.  In truth I don’t really have many of these problems, but I do tend to have the following: persistent redness in cheeks and nose, red spots and acne scars, combination skin with oily forehead and dry cheeks, and crow’s feet.  And I like my moisturizers to be light so that makeup doesn’t cake or react with them, to help emphasize my “natural” makeup look.

In the moisturizer department this product hit all of my requirements.  It was super light, not greasy, absorbed easily into skin, and kept my skin evenly balanced.  And a little goes a long way.

Is it a moisturizer? Is it a treatment cream?

But when it comes to delivering on its other promises, I didn’t notice any changes in my skin.  My acne spots are still there, my cheeks and nose are still red every morning, and there hasn’t been a change in the amount of clogged pores / acne / bumps I still get on my cheeks.  As for fine lines and wrinkles, I really wasn’t paying attention to that aspect and I don’t concentrate the moisturizer on those areas (like crow’s feet) to even know.

The bottom line: I grade this product a B-.  I probably wouldn’t buy this exact product again, especially if I found another moisturizer in the brand that was just as light.  While I didn’t see any “transformative” benefits, one little jar lasts a very long time and offers all around moisture that isn’t greasy and doesn’t aggravate my skin.  I’d definitely consider using other products from the brand.

You can buy this product now at Sephora here for $45.

Comments

