Natural Beauty Review: Burt’s Bees Shampoo, More Moisture

I have been trying different shampoos with different levels of chemicals for a while, all with the goal of balancing affordability and eliminating unnecessary chemical exposure.  I started with basic family size brands with lower sulfite compositions, such as Tresemme naturals and Fructis Pure.  These are easily accessible and though more expensive, they were still a reasonable price compared to salon brands.  But after lots of shower gifts from fellow moms that had different Burt’s Bees products – from belly butter (awesome!) to body wash to diaper cream – I thought to try out the shampoo and conditioner as soon as I had the chance. 

Having curly hair, I purchased the “more moisture” shampoo and conditioner.  The shampoo doesn’t foam very much so at first I wasn’t sure it was even working.  But that’s what happens when you take out the chemicals.  A little shampoo went a long way, it turns out, and when my bottle ran out last week I was really bummed at the difficult time I had finding the replacement!

First, the pros: A little goes a long way.  My hair felt more moisturized with the Burt’s Bees than with any other shampoo and conditioner I have used.  Despite it not having the same chemicals as your average drugstore brand, I felt I didn’t sacrifice anything switching to a natural brand.  My hair always felt clean and well cared for.  There isn’t much of a scent but what scent there is is mild and non-abrasive.

The cons: It took my scalp a few days to get used to the new products.  I think years of using drying chemicals daily did a number on my scalp’s need to replenish itself often, and it had to learn to take a break with the new shampoo.  Burt’s Bees in general is a little more expensive than other brands, though still much more affordable than salon brands.  But I can only find the shampoo at Target, which isn’t a convenient store for me.  I haven’t gotten to the point of ordering it online but that’s not a bad choice, if needed.  Now that I think of it, I haven’t checked my local grocery stores, but I know my Walmart, Walgreens, and Rite Aids don’t carry the shampoo (though they carry other Burt’s products).

Overall, I loved the shampoo and conditioner enough to buy other products and give them a shot – a new facial scrub (and you know how critical and picky I am about those!) and body lotion, for instance.  All of my experiences with those products have been above and beyond expectations.  All in all, those of you looking to eliminate chemicals from the hair care part of your routine – don’t wait and don’t waste your money on half-natural hybrids.  It is worth the effort to switch now to Burt’s Bees.

Comments

